

 $\begin{tabular}{ll} Eagles\ cruise\ to\ -\ State,\ The\ (Columbia,\ SC)\ -\ February\ 10,\ 2011\ -\ page\ 17 \end{tabular} \label{tabular}$ February\ 10,\ 2011\ |\ State,\ The\ (Columbia,\ SC)\ |\ TERRY\ MASSEY\ The\ (Myrtle\ Beach)\ Sun\ News\ |\ Page\ 17 \end{tabular}

MURRELLS INLET - Second-ranked Chapin advanced **to** the Class 3A state championship **match** on Wednesday, beating 10th-ranked St. James 60-13 in the Lower State final.

Chapin earned seven pins on the night, the fastest of which was by Stuart Hope at 119. He pinned Kyle Tecco in 37 seconds.

Hope's match was one of a few between two state-ranked wrestlers. Hope, at No. 1, has won individual state championships in two weight classes in the past two years, capturing the 103 title in 2009 at the 112 last year.

Russell Smigelski (112), Eric Perry (125), Nate Polly (135) Cody Brundage (145), Scott Swindell (160), Seth Stevens (171), Devin Lawrence (189) and Brandon Owens (215) each won by fall.

The pin by Polly, a defending state champion, clinched the **match**. None of the matches that ended by pin lasted more than 4:43. Swindell moved up **to** 160 from his regular weight of 152, where he is ranked No. 1.

Chapin also had two matches awarded to it by forfeit, secondranked Chandler Owens at 103 and Andrew Mize at 152.

In the closest match, St. James freshman John VanSlooten held on for 2-0 decision against Chapin's Chase Owens, ranked No. 2.

"John's just a freshman, but he's been wrestling since he was a kid and he just keeps getting better," St. James coach Matt Anderson said.

103: Chandler Owens (CHA) won by forfeit; 112: Russell Smigelski (CHA) pin. Alex Nielson, 3:39; 119: Stuart Hope (CHA) pin. Kyle Tecco, 0:37; 125: Eric Perry (CHA) pin. Eric Taye, 2:59; 130: Jamie Bolduc (SJ) major dec. Austin Brown, 19-5; 135: Nate Polly (CHA) pin. Nathan Elliott, 2:33; 140: John Van Slooten (SJ) dec. Chase Owens, 2-0; 145: Cody Brundage (CHA) pin. Nick Juretic, 1:35; 152: Andrew Mize (CHA) won by forfeit; 160: Scott Swindell (CHA) pin. Gregg Johnsen, 3:18; 171: Seth Stevens (CHA) dec. Taylor Schneider, 5-3; 189: Devin Lawrence (CHA) dec. Talin Jones, 11-6; 215: Brandon Owens (CHA) pin. Austin Brown, 4:43; 285: Nuji Holmes (SJ) won by forfeit.

Copyright 2011 The State